Chicken Cordon Bleu

Hey everyone!! LONG TIME NO SEE!!!!

My apologies.. I didn’t make my promise that i’d post something at latest last week. That is why there is another post right after this one – two recipes this weekend.

Work has started and i’m just tired from waking up early so I wanted something quick and easy, and something that I have most of the ingredients for already.

Whynot Chicken Cordon Bleu? I see them frozen all the time at the grocery store but who knows how much salt (and real meat) they put in those things?

The recipe originally called for Gruyere and Parma ham but I substituted with provolone (melts nicely) and normal prosciutto because that’s all the local grocery store had.

Using a meat mallet, pound the chicken breast between two pieces of saran wrap. I transferred the pounded chicken onto a new piece of saran wrap. Lay the prosciutto and cheese in the middle.

Fold the sides in, then roll the chicken breast and make sure the cheese/prosciutto isn’t exposed. Use the saran wrap to turn it into a log. Twist the sides to help form the shape. Place in the fridge for 20 minutes so the shape will stay when you handle it for the next steps.

Next, mix together finely chopped fresh thyme, salt, pepper, a teaspoon of melted butter, and eye-ball the amount of panko needed for one chicken cordon bleu.

Next, lightly coat the chicken with flour then egg, both having salt and pepper. Lastly, roll in the panko seasoning. Each containing salt and pepper.

Bake at 350F for 25 minutes. DONE!

It was pretty good. It didn’t brown as much as I would have liked. Maybe next time, i’ll cook it at 350F for 20 minutes and the remaining time at 375F while keeping an eye on it. Overall, it was pretty good. Serve with pasta and it becomes a decadent meal that you can spoil yourself with once every now and then! Also, I would add more thyme and pepper because I prefer a stronger flavor punch.

The original recipe can be found at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/chicken-cordon-bleu-recipe2/index.html

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

