Kimchi Jjigae (김치찌개)

Okay so I tried this earlier this week because it was really simple and I didn’t have time to stay in the kitchen to cook.

I tooked it in an individual clay pot over a gas burner because I don’t think our normal stove can have this thing on top of it? You can do it in a normal pan just like Maangchi does it but it doesn’t look as nice.

Pork belly (skin removed), Green onions, kimchi, kimchi liquid, water, sugar, red pepper powder, and red pepper paste. Simple 🙂

Slice a few slabs of pork belly into half an inch pieces and the rest into an inch. I added about 1/3rd cup of Kimchi liquid, 1tsp of sugar, 1 teaspoon of red pepper powder, and 1 table spoon of red pepper paste. Fill it up with water afterwards leaving about 1/2 inch below the top of your ingredients. Once the stew starts to boil, you don’t want spillage.

I set the gas burner on high until it started to boil then turned it down to medium heat for 10 minutes and maintained a simmer.

Next, Stir the stew and add enoki mushrooms. Let it simmer for another 5 minutes.

Lastly, add the soft tofu by cutting the package in half (I only used half for this size of a portion) and spoon it out into the stew. Continue to simmer for another 5 minutes.

DONE!!!!

I must say, this is really good!! The texture of the pork belly is spot on.. yummy gelatinousness. The soup itself was really good because this is one of the best kimchi brand’s that i’ve tried in Vancouver – Jinmi Foods – and they also provide a lot of kimchi liquid in the container. Something most other brands don’t do. I was surprised that I didn’t need to add salt and pepper as like 99% of more recipes out there require you to do so. But, there was definitely no lack of flavor here. Eat this with steamed rice and seasoned seaweed and your good to go.

Try this recipe!!

The original recipe can be found at: http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/kimchi-chigae-kongnamool

See you next time!

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kimchi Jjigae (김치찌개)

  1. Christina N says:

    Mmmmmm! I made this two weeks ago! Unfortunately I didn’t have a clay pot, so I cooked it over a regular pot on the stove. It was good, but I think it would’ve been better in a clay pot! Haha “more authentic”

Leave a Reply

