Taiwanese Salt/Pepper Fried Chicken

Hey everyone,

I don’t often deepfry things, but my friend told me about this recipe and I just had to try it! Well actually, this is a 2nd recipe I tried… the first was a total failure and didn’t match at all the original recipe. I’m not going to post that recipe out of respect for the individual who made it. The recipe I am therefore posting on is at http://rasamalaysia.com/salt-and-pepper-chicken-recipe/. Very simple. I browsed through a few recipes and they all have one thing in common: 5 spice powder. I asked my taiwanese friend which one looked authentic and she said this one looked pretty good, but instead of chicken breast, chicken thigh should be used. As I am true to my word, I used chicken breast as it is what the recipe prescribes.

I mixed all the dry ingredients together, and same with the liquids. Instead of cooking wine, I used Mirin to add sweetness (and that’s what I had on hand).

Mix, wrap, and leave in the fridge for 2 hours. I was surprised at how dark the chicken became. The amount of five spice powder this recipes requires is a lot. I’ll be commenting on that later. After marinating, it became 2x darker than in this picture.

Coat with sweet potato starch/flour. They are the same so don’t get confused when buying it at your nearest asian supermarket if they have both.

Heat up our oil and plop them in. Don’t crowd the pot too much or else the temperature will drop and you don’t achieve that delicious crunchy exterior. I am using canola oil here because of the high smoke temperature.

DONE!!!

The chicken was moist, and the exterior was really good. As you can tell by the last picture, it came out really dark due to the 5 spice based marinade. This recipe was good, but the 5 spice is very strong. If you were to try this recipe, I recommend cutting the 5 spice to half, and adding 1- 1 1/2 tsp of white pepper to get that peppery taste – this item was common on the other googled recipes. Overall, if your looking for a quick deep fried snack, try this recipe!

Also, since this marinade is very strong, you don’t need to marinade it for 2 hours. 30-1hour should suffice.

See you next time!

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taiwanese Salt/Pepper Fried Chicken

  1. Christina N says:

    THIS IS MY GO-TO FOOD WHENEVER I’M AT A TAIWANESE BUBBLE TEA HOUSE! (sorry for the caps, its just so delicious! haha)

  2. Eva says:

    you know how much i love these – did you ever decide which recipe was the best? i really want to try it!

  3. Eva says:

    I used chicken thigh, and followed your instructions on cutting down the spices and marinade

  4. Eva says:

    I used chicken thigh, and followed your instructions on cutting down the spices and marinade time – but it still turned out too strong! If I were to re-do it I’d put in even less spices, and a bit more pepper and salt.

    Also, my coating turned out kinda weird – how thick was yours?

Leave a Reply

