Lemon Basil Pasta Salad

I made this for a pot luck I had with friends. It looked very simple and quick. However, I added a roasted chicken that I cooked myself since the reviews said that it made this recipe taste better 🙂

I roasted the chicken breast (bone and skin) by using the following link: http://www.chow.com/food-news/54292/the-basics-how-to-make-roasted-chicken-breast/

I also made the pasta the day before and tossed it with some extra virgin olive oil and lemon. On the day of the pot luck, I added the chicken, more extra virgin olive oil, pepper, tomatoes, basil, salt, and lemon juice. I only used 1 chicken breast (with skin) and added more basil and lemon than the recipe prescribes.

I like to cut my tomatoes and lay them on paper towel for a few minutes so extra juices do not make my pasta soggy.

Finished product:

Overall: It was okay. I could taste the lemon, but my friends could not. Therefore, to them it was a bland. Next time, to add more flavor, I would add diced mozzarella (which I couldn’t find because it has to be the fresh kind packed in water) or boccocini. The pasta probably would have soaked up more flavor if it was served hot as well.

The recipe can be found on: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/dan-smith-and-steve-mcdonagh/lemon-basil-pasta-salad-recipe/index.html

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

