Hom Sui Gok

Hey everyone.

My friend was looking at egg tart recipes and that sparked my idea to try to make Hom Sui Gok since it is one of my favorite dim-sum foods out there. Gooey, crispy, savoury. I tried finding recipes on google and there were very few out there. I came across this one recipe which made it sound quite easy and decided to give it a try this morning. I halved the recipe because it is VERY unhealthy to consume large quantities.

I forgot to take pictures of the dough while I was making it. My bad~~

The ingredients for the filling and mix together. It smelled very good 🙂

I divided the dough in to six pieces unlike the 10 that is mentioned in the recipe. These dough balls are already very smell, so I couldn’t imagine dividing it into 10..

Flatten out to about a 3 inch diam.circle and lay a little (you can’t even do a heaping spoonful as it says in the recipe). Attempt to pinch up the sides. This took me a long time because the dough wouldn’t stick to itself so the hom sui gok came out ugly. The dough is extremely elastic.

Plunk them into the oil. I heated the oil to the point where if you place a bamboo skewer on the bottom, bubbles will come up. Then, I set the temperature to a medium-low. If the oil is too hot, the sugar in the dough will burn too quickly making your hom sui gok black. The hom sui gok should quickly float, then lay a spider/straineron to keep it submerged in the oil.

Done! I only had 4 in the end because like I said, if the temperature gets too high. It will burn. The other one fell apart when I put it into the oil.

Once golden brown. Remove and place on a paper towel.

It actually tasted really good. I’m surprised considering how ugly they looked. The filling was delicious. The dough flavor was really good. It wasn’t oily at all. Would I make this again? Probably not. It was a hassle to make the hom sui gok and ended up taking me an hour.. to make 4. I’m really not sure what I could change in the dough to make it more pliable. If I can find another recipe for the dough, I will try this recipe again.

The recipe can be found at: http://www.keyingredient.com/recipes/30939/golden-glutinous-rice-dumpling-hom-sui-gok/

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hom Sui Gok

  1. Christina N says:

    OMG, I totally envy Kelvin getting to eat all this stuff you make!!! HAHA

  2. spy camera says:

    Your post is very useful.Thanks a lot for sharing these information. The post has also helped a lot. Look forward to your next post Your blog is very useful. Thank you so much for providing plenty of useful content. I have bookmark your blog site and will be without doubt coming back. Once again, I appreciate all your work and also providing a lot vital tricks for your readers.
    Thanks for the great idea you have post. I’ll wait for another info which will you share. zenithink wrist phone gpad spy cameras i found it very interesting and at the same time very informative i will definitely bookmark this site for future reference…

  3. Loni says:

    Wow! Even traditional Chinese snacks! I got to experience making ham sui gok once with my grandma and omggg, it was so much work and i felt so gross afterwards from being in the oily kitchen the entire afternoon. Good job Kyle! What’s next on the menu? 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Best Glutinous Rice Dumplings Recipe | Dim Sum Central

Leave a Reply

