Chinese White Cut Chicken (白切雞)

Hey everyone!

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!! I love this day because I can just indulge myself in the delicious food that is typically eaten for this occasion:
– White cut chicken
– turnip or taro cake
– hom sui gok
– fish
– deep fried sesame balls
– and a selected of roasted and bbq’ed meats.
– “hair” soup

In addition to putting oranges on my desk to bring in the good luck, I decided to make white cut chicken because its “tradition”. Usually, the chicken needs to have the neck, head and feet. Unfortunately, IGA doesn’t carry those!

The recipe is very simple. Green onion, garlic, salt, sugar, and water is all you need for poaching the chicken. I used a 3.5 pound fryer chicken.

In a large pot, fill enough water to cover the chicken and plop in large pieces of ginger, green onion, a few table spoons of sugar, and a table spoon of salt. Bring to a boil.

In the meantime, rinse the chicken and dry it using paper towels. Liberally rub salt all over the chicken. I placed it on top of a rack because the salt will draw the water out of the skin while your broth comes to a boil.

Once the broth comes to a boil place the chicken in breast side up and bring the water up to a simmer. It took me some time playing around with the stove dials. Mine was between 2-3 on a 1-5 numbered dial.

Cover. and leave it alone for 30 minutes.

After the 30 minute mark (about) and take the pot off the heat (just slide it over on the other side of the stove-top). I let it poach until the water was warm — about 1 1/2 hours. DO NOT REMOVE THE LID.

Afterwards, I removed the chicken and placed it on a rack again. I covered it with syranwrap and placed it into the fridge as it is usually served cold.

On the side, grate ginger and finely chop green onion. Heat up sesame oil in a frying pan until smoking point and pour into the ginger/green onion mix.

This sizzled a little, but if you are going to use peanut oil, stand back as oil will splatter once it hits the green onion/ginger mixture. (I’ve read it in all recipes that use peanut oil instead of sesame oil). Leave aside until it cools down and allow the flavors to mix.

Cut and serve the chicken cold with the dipping sauce on the side.

the goal is to not tear the chicken skin during the cooking process. I failed because I wasn’t exactly gentle taking it out of the pot. The skin should have a firmness but also a “gelatinous” feel to it when poked.

The recipe that I used to make this is found at : http://www.applepiepatispate.com/main-course/chinese-white-cut-chicken/

Once again, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR and I hope you try this recipe too because its quick, simple, and can easily be made all year around.

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

