Lemon Pancakes with Honey Syrup

Hey everyone! Happy Valentines day (belated) or Singles Awareness Day (belated)

I wanted to make something that is something you’d definitely eat or see around this ‘special day’. I didn’t want to bake since all my supplies are at home so I turned to comfort food. Something your special someone would make early in the morning to serve you breakfast in bed!!

This pancake recipe is very easy. 1 1/2cup of flour, 1 1/4cup of buttermilk, 1/2 a cup of melted butter, a pinch of salt, 1tsp of baking powder and soda, and 2 large eggs. Mix and combine in a single large bowl until your batter comes together. If you have lumps, it is absolutely okay. I added zest from a lemon.

Heat up a skillet/non-stick pan and add some butter. Once the batter has melted, dollop the pancake batter on medium heat. 3-4 minutes on each side is plenty.

For the syrup, I used two table spoons of mountain honey, 1 tsp of butter, and 1tsp of water. Place these ingredients into a small microwave-safe bowl for 20 seconds. You just want everything to soften up enough for you to mix it all together.

This pancake recipe was pretty good. I would add the zest of two lemons instead next time and maybe a tablespoon of lemon juice to really drive the lemon taste. The honey syrup is what made these pancakes extremely good – mountain honey is a lot stronger in taste and has this flowery smell to it compared to the normal honey in the bear container. If you are unable to get mountain honey (pollen from wildflowers on the mountain), wildflower honey (pollen gathered from wildflower fields) would work just as fine (those are my two favorite types of honey). It is a little more expensive at $9.99CAD at the organic supermarket for a 500g jar but worth it. This honey makes hot water with lemon taste a-m-a-z-i-n-g!

The honey that I used can be found at http://www.chilliwackhoney.com/products.html#honey (made right here in British Columbia!)

The pancake recipe that I used as a base can be found at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ask-aida/cakey-buttermilk-pancakes-recipe/index.html

Until next time,

enjoy!

P.S.: To the person that commented on the shape of my pancakes (you know who you are) – my frying pan was small and I added too much pancake batter so I had to make them a little oval. 😛

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

