Pork Tenderloin En Croute

I had a craving for pork tenderloin and something flaky and crisp. This led me to make today’s recipe – Pork Tenderloin En Croute. I already have prosciutto from the Chicken Cordon Bleu the other day so my craving’s timing couldn’t be better. This is one of those recipes is really simple. It only takes about 40 minutes in total including cooking.

You will need the following ingredients:
Puff pastry (it usually comes in a giant square so you roll it out to the desired size.)
1 pound pork tenderloin, silverskin and fat removed
2 tablespoons of dijon mustard
Salt
Pepper
3 pieces of prosciutto
1 egg

First, season the pork tenderloin with cracked pepper and sear in a few table spoons of olive oil. Don’t forget the ends too! I didn’t sear the tenderloin with the salt because I figured the prosciutto will be salty enough so there is no need for it. Although the original recipe doesn’t say to sear the tenderloin, I did because I don’t want the bottom of the puff pastry to be soggy due to the pork’s juices when it cooks.

After searing, let it cool down for 5-10 minutes so you can handle it. Place horizontally along vertically placed prosciutto. Spread the top and sides with the dijon mustard. Roll the prosciutto over the tenderloin; I used saran wrap to help this rolling process.

Roll out the puff pastry so it is large enough to wrap the tenderloin. Place and wrap the tenderloin.

Roll the tenderloin and fold in the sides and brush with egg. Seam side down and don’t forget to add slits on the top for the air to vent!

Bake for 20 minutes at 350F and 10 mninutes at 375F. At the 20 minute mark, the outside wasn’t as brown as I would have wanted it so I turned it up. Remember to use a thermometer ~ it’s done when it reads 135. Let it rest for 10 minutes. DONE!

So, although I seared the meat, the bottom of the puff pastry was still wet because of the mustard. Overall, the flavor was pretty good – however, I think i’ll use whole-grain mustard for both texture and stronger flavor. This is definitely something you can make for the masses if you want to show someone you do know how to cook 🙂

The original recipe can be found at http://www.tastebook.com/recipes/746603-Pork-Tenderloin-en-croute.

See you next week!

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

