Potato and Leek Soup

Hi all,

Got home at 9:30pm from class and grocery shopping so I wasn’t in the mood to get studying. 9 hours of class is brutal, most of which I didn’t really pay attention to 0:)

This recipe is really simple and I also chose this recipe so I can use my cuisinart immersion blender that I picked up for $30 @ home outfitters (in orange!).

For this recipe, you will need:
-4 pieces of cooked bacon with a tablespoon of the bacon fat saved
-2 large leeks, thinly sliced and only the white/green part
-3 medium-large potatoes that are peeled and diced into half inch cubes
-5 cups of no-salt chicken broth (I used campbells)
-2 cloves of garlic
-salt and fresh ground pepper
-1 1/2 cups of frozen peas
-1/2 cup of whipping cream (this is the highest % of cream we can buy in Canada at most grocery stores)
-croutons
-1 tablespoon of non-salted butter

This serves 6 people as an appetizer and is under $10!

1.Melt the butter and fat in a large pot. Once melted, add the leek and garlic.

2.Cover for 5 minutes on medium heat. After sweating the leeks, add the stock, salt, black pepper, and potatoes. Bring to a boil and simmer until the potatoes are tender.

3.Take out half of the leeks and potatoes (approximately) and some of the liquid into a separate heat-resistant bowl. Use the immersion blender to puree.

4.Once pureed, add back into the soup. Bring to a simmer and add the cream and peas. Simmer until the peas are cooked/reheated.

5.Enjoy with crumbled bacon and croutons. I made the croutons out of sourdough by cubing 1 1/2 cups of sourdough and tossing it with 1 tbsp of butter; afterward, I baked the bread for 8 minutes at 400F.

Enjoy!

So mine came out a little too thick. I suggest taking small portions of the potatoes out and pureeing them at a time. Afterward mixing it back into the soup. You simply just have to repeat if it’s too watery. This way, you can control the thickness to reach the consistency you like. I would also use 1 more leek because it’s very subtle. Not sure about you but I want a punch of leek in every mouthful!

This recipe was adapted from http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/potato-leek-soup-with-bacon-recipe/index.html.

About justanormalfoodlover

I really enjoy cooking and thought I'd blog about new recipes that I try.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

